Constellation week one Thinking through drawing

Embodied Experiences in Art and Design

The first constellation topic for expressing the unseen aimed to make us start thinking about how our experiences as an artist designer or maker in any sense shape our interpretation and thinking of the process of drawing. as the first session I wasn’t entirely sure if I am honest like most of what has happened this year how I would do and how I would interpret but I was pleasantly surprised that what I was being shown and taught I was already to some extent already doing just hadn’t realised I was doing.

there were many key facts from the presentation that I took a way such as drawing v.s photo

Taking this example photo individually our mind-set would tell us one must be correct and it that case one must not. But looking deeper into the background of the first image I discovered that this is a woodcut piece of Castel Sant Angelo, Rome (1557). and the second image was taken at a much later and modern date. From this I discovered the woodcut piece was created by an artist that hadn’t actually visited or seen prior to the piece what the location actually looked like so the design is from description rather than reality.So logically which would be correct in sense both would be.

image 1 image 2

Visual Hegemony

I have never heard of visual hegemony or what it even means but from today I discovered it is a form of unconscious experience, where the eye observes an object before actually seeing I, much like interacting before physical interaction. so the hand and eye interprets different views of the object and find common data. And from this I learnt psychologically touch is the unconsciousness of vision that deciphers the sense qualities of the viewed experience.

Perimeter of experience

A diagram showing how our mind, our body and our world are different stage of our overall expressive human experience.

perimeter of experience

Interpreting the body with the mind

And finally the idea that as we go through life we can be aware of what we see but not be aware of what is happening, so seeing with our eyes is more than just seeing. in order to see something from the location of the person to the location of the object the body must manoeuvre itself to see the object such as the eyes moving causing the angle and he head to turn and as a reflex the rest of the body.

From this constellation lecture I now notice I think more about my visual and interaction experiences within my work than I did in the previous term and I hope with this mind-set in mind for the foreseeable future of the course I will be able to achieve a higher level of work and be able correct some previous problems and maybe identify some before they become to much of a problem.

Leave a Reply

