Medal BAMS update

As of next week I may only need to do another layer of molochite and by Tuesday I should have two bronzed trees done for a pour on Friday which will give me three choices of medal one of which will hopefully feature in Craft in the Bay in March. My only concern is whether there is enough layers on the mould as if I remember rightly including a pour monday there will be seven.

Four of which are single and three of which are double consistency liquid wise. I’m excited that im finally at this stage but being later to the game has helped me see some of the potential problems that can come with working in the media of Bronze. Such as

  • When wax cools it shrinks to extent so the lettering may be inconsistent but at mould stage this happened anyone it shouldn’t be a bother to me at all.
  • The weight of the wax on tree can make the medal snap it and is a pain to get back together which has happened on a few friends trees
  • And there is no guarantee of the quality of the outcome so regardless whichever of the three comes out best will be the one that moves forward to Craft in the Bay

I’m not really sure what happens after this point but from what I can gather its mainly sanding,grinding and touching up the qualities of the piece. I’m looking forward to seeing the bronze Medal but sad to see the wax casts go.

Leave a Reply

