Ideas for Make Your Mark

The Maker marketspace is expanding across the UK and abroad so finding your feet and where you sit on the market isn’t the easiest of tasks and once that hurdle is passed how do you sell yourself to potential buyers and potential employees now that’s the difficult Part.

At the moment I have mind mapped some ideas of what im thinking of doing in regards to materials, outcomes and meaning. I like the idea in my pieces of using materials that you dont necessarily think will work together and show that they can although if that doesn’t work I know why I couldn’t find any examples of it, I also like that they fulfill a purpose as well as something visually stunning. And if a meaning can be fitted in that fits the materials used and the objects than that’s smashing. For the Make Your Mark project im hoping to show:-

Development of processes and materials in

  • Wood
  • Glass
  • Textiles
  • Ceramics
  • 3D printing
  • Metal

Also im hoping to gain better understanding in relation to my practice of

  • Throwing clay
  • Glass fusing
  • Compatibility of materials
  • 3D printing software
  • Laser cutting software
  • Textile software and physical processes

As well as other materials I aim to create a series of objects that fit to theme and purpose that I can link artist influence and my own practice to, at this moment im thinking of making objects such as vases and bowl or other functional objects as the idea of making pieces that have a Fine Art and Meaning worries me as this is what I tried to do first year and things didn’t go to plan at all. Fingers Crossed this wont happen this year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

