Make your Mark (Research on Location)

For Make Your Mark I wanted to explore a means of bringing together technological and physical methods of making that can be brought together to create similar but with unique individual qualities in my outcomes. An idea that I wished to examine further based on ideas from researching books and artists online in the mediums of wood, ceramic and glass was shaped vessels based on the forms of nature found when researching and collecting ideas on location.

Whilst attending a gallery opening in Penarth I visited the local park and took lots of pictures of leaves and trees to get a general idea of the shape and look of nature that I can translate into my made objects. Andy Goldsworthy one of the main artists I have turned to for the influence aspects of my ideas found his materials or built them on location however I am taking them and documenting them on location taking them away and in case laminating the leaves to keep them fresh as a turn to for accuracy when trying to get a pattern that is accurate when applying frit to the moulded leaf shapes which is the next step of the process.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

