Exhibition talk with Pip and Huw

Yesterday as the end of second year arrived I had a short meet and discuss tutorial regarding the content on display in the exhibition, from my understanding this was to highlight your year and what you want to continue into next year and what you have learnt about yourself next year.

I was nervous for obvious reasons and explained my disappointment with Make Your Mark and the light along with the studio books but this was due to the confidence with them and the results as they are seen in exhibition. During the talk we covered pretty much everything on display and this is the basic breakdown

For Faking It and Work Experience I explained how the projects had affected me and the confidence of in the future being a propmaker and how the projects gave me insight into what the workplace is like and what it is like to work in a team to create an outcome.

There wasnt much discussion regarding questions to the medal although from past contact the imagery may need more refinement or a better understanding on the blog. However Pip was pleased that the problems of the original mould were solved even with the misfortunes of some of the lettering.

For Delight In Light huw was the tutor who saw me most and was pleased that I had tried my best following advice to complete the lamp and although the piece didn’t come completely together for exhibit it is something to learn from, another point that was mentioned was the accuracy of the costings of the piece which I wasnt sure would be appropriate but is something I can include and remember when I make the project next year again for the competition.

Make Your Mark was positive despite the misfortunes of the pieces and the potential is there but needs to be added to which is understandable and is something I am going to do anyway over the summer term due to wishing to continue to do glass in third year for the end of year pieces.

Overall I am really pleased by how well the talk appeared to go and despite a few knocks visually and verbally for the projects I am hopeful that this will achieve a worthy grade and I will take this onboard ready to think about next year.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

