Dissertation Breakdown

Next Tuesday will be the formative hand in for the Dissertation/Constellation Module which I am to hand in all that I have done no matter what format that is to be valued see what works, see what doesn’t and so on. Speaking to Martyn even last year to be precise my idea and the whole point of this Dissertation has been difficult to piece together and if this is how I feel who knows what anyone else is going through. As I collect and read through more material I believe the idea is becoming clearer and is more focused now on how a broad philosophical theory which Phenomenology is has such a big impact on what I do and think as a Maker. So for the dissertation I selected the 6,000 words and artefact option which may be seen as the easier option but making hasn’t been easy for me and the fact that the object must link to the dissertation means that there is an additional two challenges to the one of the dissertation itself. But I remain confident and will try my best with this challenge and see what my feedback says and suggest whether it is better to do the full 8,000 words to 10,000 words or concentrate on the artefact and 6,000 words option. To simplify and ensure I have the correct layout for the formative as well as the official final document I came up with a rough layout plan and during tutorials highlighted what was necessary and what wasnt or was but needed to be altered to fit in with the rest. And this is the final plan layout of 4,000 words with the remaining 2,000 and the artefact to be discussed afterwards :-

  • What is Phenomenology and phenomenology of glass
  • Why is this important and relevant to my studies and ethos and how does this help me understand the material of glass.
  • How an object is phenomenological and can be made that way

This would cover the opening 500 words of the dissertation followed by the first bulk part of around 2,000 words

  • Introducing Phenomenology
  • The theory and methods of Edmund Husserl
  • The Theory and methods of Maurice Merleau Ponty
  • How are objects phenomenological

Following that with the bulk of the research in place I would move onto:-

  • The phenomenology of glass
  • Don Ihde

Which would leave me with the remaining word count to focus on the object and the findings overall combined with the theoretical discoveries and arguments of Maurice Merleau Ponty and Edward Husrel

 

Leave a Reply

