The maker Guild (Craft in the Bay)

As well as Glass By Design there is a Student Association Scheme with Craft in the Bay that is looking to build closer relations to Artist Designer Maker and Cardiff School of Art and Design. Craft in the Bay to my understanding introduces two new members yearly and has built quite a variety in the displayed works.

The scheme allows those who apply and are selected to build relationships with the Maker Guild of Wales  and Craft in the Bay and helps with professional support, training and opportunities to build networks through maker guild membership.

Due to the fluidity of Craft in the Bay there are several glass artists already within which has helped me value how much artists working with the material charge and the size of the objects and look among other things are although I am aware that tax and gallery commission price adds to the cost seen on the ticket. I have spoken to two of the ladies that run the maker guild and surprisingly they recognise my name from the medal from second year which also went on their online webpage, I intend to message in the new year the gallery and see if I can arrange a placement as in the future I would like to see my business expand and maybe even employ staff of course this comes down to meeting the right people and being pushed in the right direction. This is a long term scenario so I am hopeful that this is a step in the right direction to make this idea more of a reality.

Leave a Reply

